Dinas Powis RFC are proud member’s of and affiliated to the Welsh Rugby Union, the governing body for rugby union within the principality.

Below you will find the rules and laws of the game as well as rules specific to the SWALEC leagues, SWALEC Bowl and Mallett Cup competitions.

World RugbyThe official site of the IRB

International Rugby Board

The International Rugby Board (IRB) was founded in 1886. With its headquarters in Dublin, the IRB is the world governing and Law making body for the Game of Rugby Union. The IRB has several main functions including:

  • Governance of the Laws and Regulations and their enforcement
  • Tournament owners and managers
  • Global game development through Member Unions funding via grants and Strategic Investment programmes, and delivery of Education & Development programmes
    Game promotion

Please visit the IRB’s Website to view the full laws of the game. Alternatively you can download the laws for iPhone and iPad by clicking on the appropriate icon below.

iPhoneOfficial IRB laws for iPhone
iPadOfficial IRB laws for iPad

WRU National Leagues

As a member if the Welsh Rugby Union, Dinas Powis RFC’s 1st XV participate in the SWALEC National Leagues, playing in Division 1 East Central.

The league rules are available to view here and explain;

  • The league structure
  • How the promotion and relegation of teams will be determined at the end of the season
  • Player permits and loans
  • Match arrangements
  • Calculation of league points and tables
  • Arrangement for dealing with disciplinary issues
Rules and Regulations
WRU National League Division 1 East Central
Welsh Rugby UnionPathway Rules for Mini/Junior Teams

WRU Rugby Pathways (U7 to U19)

The Welsh Rugby Union has developed a modified set of rules for players in the Under 7 to Under 19 age brackets, known as the “Rugby Pathway: Minis to Millennium”.

The pathway is progressive and provides a suitable transition from non-contact tag rugby to full contact.

All mini and junior rugby within Wales must abide to the pathway, a full copy of which is available to download from the WRU’s website.

WRU National Plate

The WRU National Plate is a competition operated on a knock out basis. All Clubs in Divisions 1, 2 (not 2 north), and 1 North of the WRU National Leagues are eligible to participate provided that they have not been excluded from the Competition by decisions of the WRU Board.

The full rules are available here.

Cardiff and District RFU

Cardiff and District RFU

Dinas Powis RFC are proud members of the Cardiff and District RFU (founded in 1892) and are delighted that our recently reformed 2nd team, affectionately known as the “Dingoes”, now participate in the C&D RFU Division 1 league.

Furthermore the Dingos are also competing for the Mallet Cup and the Ninian Stuart Cup.

The full cup rules are published on the Cardiff and District RFU website.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt